February 13, 2023

Ten priority bills were adopted for passage by June 2 this year during the first Executive Committee Meeting of the Legislative-Executive Development Advisory Council (LEDAC) in Malacañang on Monday.

The LEDAC serves as a consultative and advisory body to the President, the chair of the National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA) Board, on certain programs and policies essential to the realization of the goals of the national development agenda.

Among the priority measures to be passed at the end of the First Regular Session are the Amendments to the Build-Operate-Transfer (BOT) Law/Public-Private Partnership (PPP) bill, Medical Reserve Corps, Philippine Center for Disease Prevention and Control, creation of the Virology Institute of the Philippines, and Mandatory Reserve Officers Training Corps (ROTC) and National Service Training Program (NSTP).

The Condonation of Unpaid Amortization and Interests of Loans of Agrarian Reform Beneficiaries (ARBs), Internet Transactions Act/E-Commerce Law, Maharlika bill, Attrition law,/AFP Fixed Term and the Salt Industry Development Bill are also among the top measures slated for passage this June.

President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. earlier enumerated the priority bills in his 2022 State of the Nation Address (SONA), which are essential in the implementation of the administration’s plans and programs for the country, particularly the 8-point socioeconomic agenda.

The LEDAC meeting was presided over by Executive Secretary Lucas Bersamin at the Premier Guest House in Malacañan Palace.

Also present were LEDAC members Senate President Juan Miguel F. Zubiri, House Speaker Ferdinand Martin G. Romualdez, and Socioeconomic Planning Secretary Arsenio M. Balisacan.

The list of officials under the executive branch who attended include Special Assistant to the President Secretary Antonio Lagdameo Jr., Department of Budget and Management (DBM) Secretary Amenah F. Pangandaman, Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) Secretary Alfredo E. Pascual, Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) Secretary Maria Antonia Yulo Loyzaga, Department of Agriculture (DA) Senior Undersecretary Domingo F. Panganiban, Presidential Legislative Liaison Office (PLLO) Secretary Mark Llandro L. Mendoza, Department of Finance (DOF) Assistant Secretary Valery Brio, and Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) Undersecretary Juan Victor Llamas.

Representing the legislative branch were Majority Leader Joel Villanueva, Representative Sandro Marcos, Senate President Pro Tempore Loren Legarda, Senator Sonny Angara, Deputy Speaker Ralph G. Recto, Majority Leader Manuel Jose M. Dalipe, Minority Leader Marcelino C. Libanan, and Rep. Stella Luz A. Quimbo.

June 2 is sine die adjournment for the first regular session of the 19th Congress.

Source: https://www.facebook.com/100064282075832/posts/588165133336217/?mibextid=WC7FNe&rdid=KV5e4y9biyQZeeK6